Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

'I would like to have done something' or 'I would have liked to do something "?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 'I would like to have done something' or 'I would have liked to do something "?

Hello everyone,

First of all, I am sorry if the title seems a bit too direct, I wanted to write something more specific and precise but I was only allowed 85 characters...

I was wondering if anyone could help with a grammar subtlety I am not sure to get right.
    I am studying with "English Grammar in Use" by Raymond Murphy. On unit 58 he introduces the following structure:
    I would like to have done something = I regret now that I didn't or couldn't do it
    So if I say "I would like to have seen her again", it means "I wish I had seen her". So far, am I right ?

Is the structure "I would have liked to do something" grammatically correct ? If so, when I say "I would have liked to see her", does it have the same meaning than "I would like to have seen her".

If they are both correct, I would say that when I say "I would have liked to do something" I am only stating something I would have liked to do if I had had the chance, whereas when I say "I would like to have done something", I am expressing regrets about not doing something.

Thank you for the help

Chris.
    Last edited by Christophe31; 10-09-2018, 08:27 AM.

Yes. "I would like to have seen her again" means "I wish I had seen her"/
    Also "I would have like to do something" is correct. It means, in the past, you wish you had done something.
    Yes "I would have liked to see her" and "I would like to have seen her" are the same

"I would have like to do something" and "I would like to have done something" mean the same thing, and both express regret about not doing something in the past. They are just different ways to word the same sentence

Comment