Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Want to help with a linguistics project??

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Want to help with a linguistics project??

Hi everybody! I'm an American linguistics student, and I'm interested in the way people from other countries talk about their families! I would just need to know your language's words for mom, sister, brother, etc. (e.g. "mother" in Spanish is "madre"). Anybody want to help?? I would really appreciate it! I can offer friendship and help learning English in return! Thank you!

For Chinese:
    (1 is 1st tone, 2 is 2nd tone, etc. 0 is neutral tone.)
    Mom: 妈妈 ma 1 ma 0
    Dad: 爸爸 ba 4 ba 0
    Older Sister: 姐姐 jie 3 jie 0
    Younger Sister: 妹妹 mei 4 mei 0
    Older Brother: 哥哥 ge 1 ge 0
    Younger Brother: 弟弟 di 4 di 0
    There are no characters that I know of that represent simply "brother" or "sister."

If you're going to do research on how foreign countries use their respective languages to talk about their families, is this a sociolinguistics project on how their labels for their family members reflects their societal attitude towards family and the home? If not, I can't think of another reason why you'd want to carry out such a project (if you wanted to relate the phonetics for different languages' morphemes for familial relations, that's already been done in general, unless you're focusing on an obscure part of a language family that likely can't be found on interpals.net). If you are carrying out a sociolinguistics project, you'd not only need to know a large swath of a language's words for many morphemes concerning family, but you'd need to do so for a wide diversity of languages as well.