Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Which one is the most useful scandinavian Language to learn?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which one is the most useful scandinavian Language to learn?

Hey everyone!
    I really like nordic culture and history and always have been fascinated by the way the nordic languages sound like. Until now I can speak fluently 4 languages but I would like to add one more to the list, I just can't decide which one. As I am a beginner when it comes about scandinavian languages I must admit that they sound all very similar to me. I know some are almost the same when written, just the pronounciation is different and so on but still I would like to know which of these languages ( Norwegian, Swedish, Danish and Icelandic) is the easiest to understand by the others.
    Example:
    What is easier for a swede to understand, danish or norwegian or icelandic? and so on for the others.
    I would like to learn the one which will be understood by the largest amount of people.

Thanks in advance.

I also take opinions based on aspects like beauty of the language and importance of its country, but the main thing for me is, again, that a lot of people can understand it.

Greetings from Colombia

Andrés
    Norwegian
    13.04%
    Swedish
    69.57%
    Danish
    4.35%
    Icelandic
    4.35%
    Finnish
    8.70%

If you want to be able to communicate with as many people as possible you should learn Swedish. Sweden has the largest population out of all countries in Scandinavia and Swedish is also an official language in Finland. All Finnish students have to study Swedish in school. If you know Swedish you can also understand almost everything in Norwegian and if you listen carefully you can understand some Danish. Icelandic is more difficult but if you listen really hard you can understand some of it.