No announcement yet.

How do you learn a new language alone?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you learn a new language alone?

Hi!

My name is Marcos and I am a Medical student from Brazil. I have some skills in reading, because it is very used in my area. But I have many difficulties with the other skills in the language (listening, speaking and writing). I am trying to learn German too, but it's hard in begining.

How do you learn a new language alone? I don't have many time (my compromises have almost 80 hours of my week) or money to pay a particular teacher or even a virtual one. What do you say to me?

Im by no means a professional but I find that the best thing to do first is always learn the alphabet and all the sounds used in the language, im not sure if this will work as well for german as Korean or Japanese (which are the languages I have worked on), but getting a general idea of how to pronounce words through how they are written will help a lot when studying alone via the internet. Finding this info should be relatively simple as it's the basics, just google free lessons or look up youtube videos. Once you got that part down it just becomes a matter of building up your vocabulary which is more of a time consuming process than anything else.

There is no substitute for exposure to the language you are looking to learn, even if you don't know the words try to listen to music, watch movies, etc in your target language. It'll help you retain info you have learned and correct mispronounciations of the words that you -did- know and all that. Also of course, look into language exchange on here - might be someone in a similar position open to voice chatting once in a while.

Comment